Things That Go “Bump!” In The Night

Things That Go “Bump!” In The Night

A thin layer of my mother’s womb still covered my face at birth.
When that ominous veil was lifted, the only sight I saw was reality.
But, I have the gift of caution from every glance of my mother’s eyes.

The life line on my right palm is broken into four sections;
each wanders off in a different direction from the rest.
This means nothing in years. It is the mark of individualism.

I have a space between my two middle toes, and the next toe
is longer than the biggest one. This does not make me Lord
and Master of the house. It makes my feet hurt in dress shoes.

I read cards, tea leaves, stones, pluck petals from unfortunate daisies,
and the only thing it gives me is time to think about time wasted.
Heaven is all that is in the stars for me, and that is too far to reach.

So, when I see you look at her, your lips curled in anticipation;
or maybe it is memory of some moment shared, I am reassured
by the knowledge that signs mean nothing in the larger picture.

Shirley Alexander
Jan. 2011

14 Comments

Filed under life, love, poetry

14 responses to “Things That Go “Bump!” In The Night

  1. I like this and I also have a broken lifeline I was supposed to have tree children according to the book and the palm reader but I see you not only can read the future but you can write it as well. Because under your name is Nov 2011

    • It’s great to see you here, Ted! Thank you.
      I was supposed to have two children, and I did–plus a stepson. I have always been intrigued by things like this, but the only one that really holds any water for me is handwriting. I have found the analysis to hold up most every time I try it.
      LOL! That is what happens when I get lazy and copy code from another of my posts. I changed the year, and forgot the month. Thanks. I’ll fix it.

  2. wow this is mystic.. deeply felt…

  3. I’m with you on interpreting signs – interesting, but nothing that truly affects my choices. And you are so right about the handwriting analysis – always spot-on for me.

    Love the poem! It ambles along very nicely, then bears down hard and unexpectedly at the last.

    • Thank you, Jonnia. I do like meeting another kindred spirit. Handwriting analysis is an enjoyable hobby for me. I especially like pulling some of my own handwriting from different times in my life to compare the changes.
      I like a strong ending to poetry, and endings which twist the reader’s thoughts in an unexpected direction. 🙂

      Shirley.

  4. Elaine Randall English

    “pluck petals from unfortunate daisies”

    I love this phrase….those beautiful, if “unfortunate” daisies…you fortuntelling and told artiste! Love it!
    later, love

    • Elaine,

      Thank you. It is always great to see you. I miss reading your poetry.
      That line was one of those that comes out, and then I read it later and thought “Well, that’s not half bad.” 🙂 I love it when that happens.

      xoxoxo
      Shirley

  5. belfastdavid

    This is wonderful Shirley,

    A poem with a serious life lesson in it, yet running through it a gentle self-deprecating sense of humour.
    I love that don’t-let-me-take-myself-too-seriously sense of humour – it appeals to my own! 🙂

    Really well done

    David

  6. Hi Shirley,

    I really like this poem. I found it quite impacting. I’ve read it several times now. It always startles me how much we have in common. There are so many lines that just really resonate with me and that I deeply relate to. It certainly will be read again.
    I have to admit I don’t give much credence to most forms of divination. No life is set in stone, our choices will reveal our path not lines or the arrangement of inanimate objects. Or maybe I just feel put out *LOL* because everytime I have been tempted to have a peek into the future it’s all been very wrong and totally inaccurate.
    That said I’ve had great luck with omens and find them very intriging largely due to their accuracy thus far.
    I have also found psychology based Tarot very useful.

    In reading though what I felt was the search for sense and meaning for some order, some structure and lessons learned.
    At the same being open to a wider world and possibilities without letting the past or present wholly define you but leaving space to still be shaped and formed by the future.

    Thanks for sharing such a beautful poem. This is certainly one my favs of yours.

    (((BIG HUGS)))
    Tikarma
    xoxoxo

  7. Tikarma,

    Thank you for these lovely words. I agree that we share a great many interests and personality traits. I know you understand how these things can bump around your head in the dead of night, regardless of how much you try to ignore them in daylight.

    My greatest problem is talking on the phone. I often sense what the other person is doing or thinking, or who is with them, beyond what is being said aloud.

    I have, over the years, learned to avoid thinking about the dreams I am given, especially the ones that mean some life altering event. When I was still a child, my mother taught me (painfully) to keep my mouth shut about those dreams and intuitions (really a mild word for it, isn’t it?) Anyway, once you stop sharing them, they lose impact.

    Well, before I start sounding like some kind of freak-too late! :), I will simply say Thank You again for reading and understanding. This was one of those very quick writes, sort of a thinking out loud on paper thing. I was not sleeping, and turned on my bedside lamp to write it. It helped. I went to sleep, and didn’t dream a thing. I am pleased with it too. *grin*

    Much love and many blessings for the garden that is your life,
    xoxoxo ((((BIG HUGS)))
    Shirley

  8. Jim Turnerr

    How fortunate, those daisies plucked by you. Jim

  9. Thank you, Jim. I did do that “loves me, loves me not” thing when I was a teenager. I guess we all did. *smile*